Dang, y’all!

Hits are really up over the past few days, including a record-setting Thursday!  Apparently I should be writing a medieval history-tinged football blog.  Well, if the Saints can keep their season going tomorrow, I’ll see what I can do.

For my part, I’ll be going up to SF to watch the game at Black Magic, a crazy little place that’s basically a slice of New Orleans, especially on Saints game day.  For the Cardinals game, everyone in my group lost a few pounds from sweating simply from the mass of humanity crammed in there and was accidentally (?) groped a few times.  A lovely afternoon, all in all.

Now, I’ve laid the groundwork by wearing black and gold all week — fortunately, my job’s pretty flexible about wearing, say, a Jeremy Shockey t-shirt jersey — but I’ll actually be the only person not in black tomorrow.  I’ll be wearing my light blue thrifted Morgus the Magnificent (sound) tee.  AKA, my lucky shirt.

Last weekend someone told me I should be buried in this shirt.

If we’re not counting Saints players, Morgus has to be one of the most beloved entertainment figures in New Orleans, to multiple generations.  The first time I showed up in this shirt to a Saints game at Black Magic, I felt like a celebrity.  I got hugs, handshakes, fist bumps, people hollering at me from across the room.  It was like a secret code that only the NOLA transplants knew, a shibboleth that made us immediate best pals.  It’s been asserted to me that it’s the best purchase I will ever make; considering it cost me 2 bones, that is undoubtedly the case.  My friend’s mom has warned me that I had better be hand-washing it, or I’ll have her to answer to.  You can imagine what happens if I wear it when I’m back in New Orleans.

So that’s my nuclear option, when it comes to luck.  Am I superstitious?  Oh hell yes.  It comes from reading too much Gumbo Ya-Ya as a kid.  Probably also from a New Orleans brand of Catholicism by which my grandma gets any object of even the most minor religious significance (like, a pillow with a picture of Jesus on it, and don’t dare sit on it!) blessed by a priest.

How about you?  Do you practice your own strange little rituals?  What are they?  When do they come out?

4 Comments

  1. January 23, 2010 at 4:09 pm

    Just read this NYT article that mentions a couple other folks’s superstitions, as well as mentioning how Orleanians are treating the Minny visitors: http://www.nytimes.com/2010/01/24/sports/football/24saints.html?ref=sports

    Also in the comments here: http://www.nola.com/saints/index.ssf/2009/12/post_103.html

  2. mordicai said,

    January 23, 2010 at 6:45 pm

    “Charge” the dice with the highest score face up– all twenties, twelves, tens, eights, sixes, fours. That is just about my only one.

  3. CJ said,

    January 26, 2010 at 12:57 pm

    My superstitions: When I do evens and odds, I blank my mind and say the opposite of what comes to it. When a key die roll is coming up, I do a dance while imagining that my soul is leaping into the die as it is being tossed.

  4. Ryan said,

    February 3, 2010 at 6:36 pm

    Gotta put them ONES face-up, dawg! The more time they are on the lowest number, the lower the statistical chance is that number will be rolled. For reals. No botches, bitches.


Leave a Reply

