Picture time!

The past few weeks have been quite hectic, between two trips to the Midwest and the end-of-semester rush.  I haven’t been translating a ton, but I have been doing some background reading that I should probably have done awhile back, so there should be some more amusing/horrifying Norse stories coming real soon.

While I was in Chicago on business, I had a free morning, and I didn’t want to miss the opportunity to hustle over to the Art Institute; I’d gone once as a kid and really enjoyed it (it helped that they were doing an exhibition on arms & armor).

After spending about an hour in the new wing looking at the architecture and design exhibits, it occurred to me that there was probably inspiration for the Witch’s Spell project — if not for me, then for Ryan’s art.  It would be a waste to hang around a gold mine all morning and come back with only the grime on my face.  So, I spent my last hour there speed-walking around the museum with my trusty little camera, looking for images, or snippets of them, that might give Ryan and I some spark as we try to work out the visual style of the book.  The sense of urgency was fun; sorry, Buddha, you’re great and all, but I need a fire demon, stat!  I thought maybe you’d be interested to see some of the results.

So what do you think?

1 Comment

  1. April 9, 2010 at 1:41 pm

    […] few artifacts at the Art Institute that I hadn’t seen the first time, when I was focusing on paintings and drawings.  I even came across a few rooms I didn’t even know existed! Gorgeous bracers from a surely […]


Leave a Reply

